June 13, 2015

  • Wine and Canvas

    So ... I joined saintvi for a trip to a Wine and Canvas event in South Bend.

    I've never been to one. Neither have I ever painted, although I do have some skill in cartooning.

    It was a nice thing to do on a Friday, when her usual gal pals were not available. I guess one thing I did NOT expect was that women would outnumber men by 64 to 4.  I guess I figured there would be more couples.  In most respects, hanging out with a lot of women doing something creative is far more interesting than hanging out with a lot of men harumphing and story-posturing about hunting or cars.

    There were at least two bridesmaid parties. The gal sitting next to me (at my left in the photo) was in one of the parties. She also won one of the two door prizes. I think both were women's wallets, so it was just as well that my number didn't get picked.

    2015-06-12 18.52.48

    This is a selfie jut before finishing the background. saintvi's camera was languishing on the battery, so she wanted me to take a photo.

    You can just see some lovely crackers, cheese, salami, and Ritz crackers that accompanied the wine.

    I had two plates.

    It was one plate to many.

    Ugh.

    Tongue was happy. Tummy was not.

    2015-06-12 20.33.00

    This picture is a long shot of the room. It's kind of interesting how so many people can listen to the instructor give the same directions, and yet each piece of artwork is so unique.

    2015-06-12 20.35.03

     

    This is a picture of my finished work. I am proud of it.

    I would NEVER have been able to do this without direction, but I was pleased that I could use my own artistic eye to bring some nice shades and blends to the picture. I was particularly happy with how the waves and the sky came out.

    2015-06-12 22.35.11

    I can definitely see going again.

    But ... I need to learn to quietly sing popular songs. It seems that when a zillion women in are in the same room, and songs like "Your the One that I Want" from Grease are being played - they sing ... and they go: "YourtheonethatIwant ...Oo, Oo, Oo, OoooOoo."

    It sounds like a chorus of backup singers.

    As a point of trivia, I actually saw Grease when it was first released in the theaters ... before most of the women at Wine and Canvas were born.

    "Oh, Oh, Oh, OOOOlllldd!!!"

    LOL!!!

     

Comments (6)

  • Your painting turned out AWESOME!! I think I was the only one singing along with Van Morrison. I guess that makes me OOOOllllddd too!

  • You have real talent! I liked both paintings. Are you going to hang them side by side or on opposite walls to give the effect there is a mirror? I'm so swamped at work and at home preparing for the church retreat I haven't had a chance to look at the pathtag design. I will however be giving it thought after the 28th!

  • @saintvi: You aren't old. They are just babies!

  • Wine and Canvas sounds like a fun activity -- and your painting is lovely :-) !

  • @murisopsis: I'm not in any rush on the pathtag, but I do look forward to hearing more of your thoughts when you have the time.

  • You created a lovely painting. I am glad you enjoyed your experience. I have noticed we have a wine and painting place not too far from here, and it does sound like it could be an enjoyable evening out, but unless I find friends who would want to go too, I am not sure the experience would be worth it, for I wouldn't be able drive home if I allow myself to drink the wine, and I'm sure I could watch painting tutorials much cheaper (feee)online.
    Do we get to see photos of either SaintVi's rendition or the instructors?

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment