May 13, 2016

  • New Castle, DE

    My apartment is in New Castle, DE.

    While I'm not in the historic district, I do live very close. I've always loved Colonial American history, so this a bonus for me.

    The residents of New Castle have made an effort for over 300 years to ensure that their town stays tied to their colonial roots. Many of the houses are from the 1700's, one might even be from the 1600's - I need to check on that one. They pride themselves on having retained their historic roots, vice "reconstructing the town like Williamsburg, VA." I guess everyone needs to feel a little better than someone else about SOMEthing! :-)

    Thursday was one of two sunny days that I've seen since I've been here. I was able to spend about 90 minutes checking things out. Tried to find 2 geocaches, but one was inside a museum not open at the time I was there and the other turned out to be a virtual. So - I'll go back and see if I can find one of the "real" geocaches sometime soon.

    I'm sure I'll write more about the town in weeks ahead, but here are a few pics:

    2016-05-12 15.29.33 2016-05-12 15.44.52 2016-05-12 15.06.11 2016-05-12 14.48.28

    The church cemetery has George Read's remains, as well as others who signed the Declaration of Independence.

    The street view has a statue of William Penn. This is where he first set foot in the colonies.

    I'm sideways ... but don't have time to mess with it right now.

    The garden is one of several nooks in the town.

     

Comments (3)

  • The garden is lovely. I can easily imagine spending a lazy Saturday afternoon reading a book there.

  • How neat that there is so much history! I presume that being on a 2nd shift will give you some daylight to wander around town. Looks like spring has arrived in DE - tomorrow our high is predicted to be 48. (You weren't wearing a coat and I'm jealous)

  • I'm looking forward to seeing the town at some point. The cemetery looks really interesting.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment